Matilda

Standard

We have the most gorgeous little guest. She has made a home beneath a big climbing Clematis that has soared up into a silver birch tree, using the rear wall of our shed as a windbreak. It really is a cosy nook. She allows us quite close to her, but the ears are pinned down, the eyes fixed our way, and she looks ready to flee if she must. When I do catch her unawares she is often grooming her pouch, so I assume there is young soon to be making that marathon journey to the safety of the pouch, or, already one ensconced.

Concensus is she is a Pademelon, or Thylogale billardierii.

We have called her Matilda, and our cats and alpacas seem quite happy to share the garden and paddock space with her when she does venture out to graze. I note she loves the new mown paddock run covered in clover and grass, and there is plenty of water available for her. She is very safe, as long as she stays out of my newly sown vegetable garden! I hope she lets us meet the baby.

Matilda has a good look to assess me, Friend or Foe? Stay of Flee?

Matilda has a good look to assess me, Friend or Foe? Stay of Flee?

Matilda decides to stay and out-wait me!

Matilda decides to stay and out-wait me!

 

 

Comments are closed.