My Connected Life

Standard

The day I wrote this was a birthday for me, and one of my surprise gifts was a parcel from someone I have never met and barely know. It came about because I am a RAVELRY member and one of the groups in which I participate is the Birthday Swap. This caused me to stop and reflect on the connectedness I now have as a direct result of the Internet, and particularly Ravelry, Twitter, Lexulous and Facebook.

It can never replace person to person interaction, but it has certainly increased my circle of acquaintances and friends, and enhanced my real life activities, especially fibery craft and competitive (but friendly) word games. I live in rural southern Tasmania, Australia. There are no town services on my immediate doorstep, no very close neighbours and my internet access is mediocre, yet I regularly communicate with folk all over our planet.

My friend Kathleen and I met via Twitter because of a love of alpacas, and we actually subsequently lunched together in Salt lake City! Kathleen lives in Oklahoma and I live in Tasmania and we would never have met if not for Twitter. We now play Words With Friends on a daily basis.

I stay connected with my sister-in-law in the UK via Lexulous, nice to have international banter with a relative who won’t fly south to Australia! In fact, Lexulous has almost become our online family glue as even in Australia we are far from each other.

I met Chris via Twitter because we both love fibre, and we have since dined with Chris in Vermont! We now often comment on each others projects and share a love of Musk Ox and their Qiviut fibre.

I swapped hand crafted items and other bits with NancyJean in Maryland and we now keep in touch via Facebook, but only because we met on Ravelry first.

I met Kath on a beach in Rarotonga many many moons ago and we now stay in touch via Facebook scrabble even tho’ we are separated by a  big ditch between Australia and New Zealand.

So while I have many close friends and playmates in my immediate life, my social media friends are just as important, and one never knows where a courteous online communication will lead. Getting back to my birthday swap parcel, a big thanks to stashhaus, aka Kate from Wisconsin, for a most delightful parcel. Here it is.

 

and here is the parcel I sent to stashhaus.

It is a lot of fun to swap with others. Join us on Ravelry.

I sent a clasped weft scarf of alpaca and tussah silk evoking the great barrier reef, notebook, travel journal, huon pine soap, handspun art yarn, japanese silk bag, tassie devil hand towel, kangaroo keyring, Huon valley tourist brochure, a craft bag with showing Australian animals.

I sent a clasped weft scarf of alpaca and tussah silk evoking the great barrier reef, notebook, travel journal, huon pine soap, handspun art yarn, japanese silk bag, tassie devil hand towel, kangaroo keyring, Huon valley tourist brochure, a craft bag with showing Australian animals.

Comments are closed.